Non-execs dismissed by RICS speak of past troubles and future hopes | Online

RICS HQ London

Yesterday Alison Levitt QC explained a “power struggle” at the crisis-strike system in which four associates of the management board were ousted and “sound governance ideas were not followed”.  

Right now, the four members – Amaarjit Atkar, Bruce McAraSimon Hardwick and Steve Williams – have damaged their silence to communicate about the own impression of the scandal and how they hope RICS will be strengthened by Levitt’s suggestions. 

In a assertion they explained: “The prolonged period of time due to the fact our termination has been incredibly difficult and worrying, both equally personally and professionally. We are delighted that the troubles about which we very first lifted concerns in 2019 have now been recognized by the establishment and that it has fully commited to building significantly achieving reforms to re-create trust.” 

They additional: “We have not nonetheless experienced an chance to study the whole report but are pleased to listen to that Alison Levitt QC has concluded we ended up genuinely concerned about satisfying our responsibilities to RICS, which we took pretty critically, and did not ought to have the treatment method to which we ended up subjected. 

“We take note her discovering that we must obtain a general public apology, which we have been assured RICS will provide.  

“We also note the reviews by Nick McLean on behalf of the governing council that he considers our carry out was exemplary and that we ended up ideal and brave to raise the problems we did in the deal with of hostility.”  

Levitt exonerated the 4 non-executives dismissed from the board and claimed they would have failed RICS if they experienced backed down.  

As the report was printed yesterday, a wave of major-brass resignations had been introduced. Main govt Sean Tompkins, president Kath Fontana, interim governing council chair Chris Brooke and chair of the administration board Paul Marcuse all stood down from their posts. 

Amit Shah, the chair of the audit committee, has come to the conclude of his term.